weedfor.blogg.se

Encrypted sd card recovery
Encrypted sd card recovery












On the Fairphone 2, running Fairphone Open, I installed Termux and ran it. The article Android Explorations – Decrypting Android M adopted storage saved me. I looked myself out! Only the new card with 256 GB worked, but it was still empty, and I couldn’t get the data from the old card over to the new one! Accessing an encrypted SD card from Linux

encrypted sd card recovery

So my Fairphone 2 completely forgot about this encrypted SD card which made it impossible to use anymore. But before I copied the files I made the fatal mistake of removing the missing encrypted SD card, the old one with 128 GB, from the Android setup (because Android would always complain about the missing SD card). I found the encryption key from the procedure described below, which was my luck. I guess it’s a safety feature… a good one IMHO, but in this case it made my life harder. I then used the USB adapter on the USB-OTG cable, but Android would not let me use the encrypted microSD card that originated from the internal slot over USB-OTG („On-the-Go“).

encrypted sd card recovery

I also chose to use the new SD card encrypted.īTW, swapping microSD cards can only be done when Android is shut down!Īndroid would always complain about the missing SD card after start-up – the other one that was not in the SD card slot at that time. I also have a USB-On-the-Go (OTG) adapter cable, which makes it possible to attach the second SD card via USB-OTG on the smartphone, thus I could theoretically access both SD cards on the phone at the same time… As theories go, it sometimes doesn’t work under real life conditions…īeing as I am I first swapped the SD cards in the Fairphone once to initialize the new SD card, means: I wanted Android to format the card, not the Linux PC (nor Windows, nor macOS), so that the partitioning and the file systems would be 100% correct for Android. Additionally I used a USB SD card reader to access (i.e. The phone is, as mentioned above, a (factory) rooted Fairphone 2. Coming from Linux I thought this would be an easy swap – copy contents from old card using an adapter to new card, then replace old card with new card in the phone. When I decided to put all of my MP3 songs on it I found that the SD card was not big enough and decided to get a 256 GB SD card. I used it for about 2 years with a 128 GB SD card. I additionally installed the OpenGApps nano package, XPrivacy and F-Droid.

encrypted sd card recovery

It might be worth mentioning that I use the Fairphone Open version of Android, which comes with privileged root access and without Google Apps by default. I share this in the hope that it may be useful to others.














Encrypted sd card recovery